Jimingyi was established during the Yuan Dynasty when Kublai Khan went on a western expedition. It was refurbished and expanded in 1420 during the reign of Emperor Yongle of the Ming Dynasty, and has played a major role in the history of Chinese communications. When the northern warlord government decided in 1913 to eliminate the ancient post house system and set up a modern post office system, Jimingyi went into decline. However, it remains today the biggest and best preserved ancient postal house in China. There are eight ancient temples at the Jimingyi, such as the Confucian Temple, the Temple of the Dragon King, and the Temple of Fortune, all in very poor shape in the town. The Temple of Eternal Tranquility is the oldest, with a history of more than 800 years. Visitors can see wall paintings from the Ming Dynasty that is still surprisingly complete and fresh in colour. From the sizes of the temples, you may see the influence of Buddhism, Taoism and Christianity in the city. The post house city at the crossroads was also a business hub in ancient times. According to inscriptions on a stone slab, it boasted six pawnshops, nine general stores, four oil shops and a number of tea houses and inns where animals and men might rest.      

The Improbable Beijing Guidebook - Sing Travel

Office 2603, Building B, 8 GuangQuMen Wai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022

Tel: +86-10-58612491 Fax: +86-10-58612490

Copyright. All Rights Reserved. Last Update 15-Feb-2019